Multitasking with an iPhone Addiction

Last week I read a blog about the negative effects of multi-tasking and I couldn’t help but roll my eyes. The writer is crazy, I am a great multi-tasker.

It is safe to say that I’m addicted to my iPhone. During the day when I’m away from my computer I can check my e-mail, text my friends,  see what’s happening on Twitter and (most importantly) play Scrabble. During my night classes, I can use it to check the score of the Blazer games that I’d be missing by sitting in class.

I can talk on the phone while driving (on speakerphone of course). I can read and listen to music at the same time. I can even watch TV while I study. Yes, I am a GREAT multi-tasker.

Or so I thought.

After reading the blog I couldn’t help but notice the fact that I’d be getting sidetracked or losing focus on whatever I was working on by pausing to check my phone. Because of this, I decided to try turning off my phone while I was in class or studying at the library, just to see what would happen.

At first I completely failed the “don’t multi-task” assignment that I set for myself. I actually sat in my night class writing a blog about how much I didn’t believe that multi-tasking was an issue for me, but then I realized I missed half of the lecture while writing my post.

This was the “Ohhhhh.. I get it now” moment that I needed.

I shut down my computer, sat with my pen in my hand and listened to the rest of the lecture. (In all honesty, I didn’t put my phone away though.  This was one of those nights when I was missing the basketball game by sitting in a 5-7pm class so I needed to keep track of the score.)

The past week since I started turning my phone off or leaving it in my backpack, I’ve noticed a big difference in my ability to concentrate. Now, if I’m studying or working on something important, I keep my phone in my bag where I won’t be tempted to check my text messages or get on Twitter.

I erased the first draft I had of blog I originally wrote about multi-tasking (you know, the one I wrote during my night class) and replaced it with this one. It is safe to say I’m pretty happy with the results and my new-found ability to concentrate.

One thought on “Multitasking with an iPhone Addiction

  1. I used to think the exact same thing. During college, I really discovered multi-tasking wasn’t great for studying and learning. As a professional though, while I work from home some nights, I find that multi-tasking is good for me! I sit at work all day and work, but when I’m working on my own time, I think it allows me to relax and get things accomplished at the same time if I watch some of my favorite TV shows while I work.

Leave a Reply

