5 Reasons Why I ALMOST Deleted my Facebook.

Recently, I’ve been going back and forth on whether or not I should delete my Facebook. Clearly from the title of my blog, I decided against it. Here are the 5 reasons why I ALMOST deleted my account.

5. Distracting the current with the future.

I don’t even know how many times I’ve been with friends and we take pictures then immediately people ask to look at the camera again and “dibs” default photos. By only caring about what pictures will go on Facebook in the future, it is taking you out of the current moment that you are in and not truly appreciating the time you are having with your friends. Sometimes I’ll think back to certain days that I have pictures from and all I’ll remember is sitting there taking pictures, not anything else we did during that time.

4. Privacy? What Privacy?

This is just a personal annoyance. I don’t really like websites changing their privacy settings and making its users go in and manually change them so their information that was previously private remains that way.

3. Don’t judge a book by its cover.. Or Profile Picture.

More and more employers are turning to Facebook in order to find out more information on their job-seekers. Although there is nothing on my Facebook that I’m ashamed of or have to hide, I just don’t like the idea of someone looking at me and using a profile picture as a way to judge whether or not I’ll receive an interview or considered for a position (mainly because I look a lot younger than I am and that constantly works against me).

I also realize that Facebook is a great way of weeding out potential interviewees. For example, one of my Facebook “friends” has 90% of her profile pictures either drunk or in a swimsuit, and she certainly doesn’t qualify for most jobs, although her resume may not appear that way.

2. Facebook: The Ultimate Procrastination

I’m not going to lie, I’ve checked my Facebook about 4 times in the process of writing this blog. It’s an instinct reaction now to check it whenever my mind begins to wander, usually during studying or writing papers during finals week…

1. Facebook “friends”

Let’s be honest, I am not ACTUALLY friends with 85% of my “friends” on Facebook. What I really like about Google+ is that it has an “acquaintances” circle. If Facebook had a “we went to high school together, but never really talked” friends list, I’d be happy. Instead, I decide to just hide everyone’s updates that I don’t actually care about so they don’t constantly pop-up on my news feed.

Why don’t I just delete them? Well, I’m pretty convinced there is some Facebook-karma going on here. The other day, my friend and I were talking about that inevitable awkward moment when you run into someone who you recently deleted on Facebook and are kinda forced to say, “Oh I’m sorry, it must have been an accident!”or just cross your fingers and hope they haven’t noticed yet. In my opinion, I’d rather just “hide” them instead of having 356 awkward Facebook-karma moments.

So… Why didn’t I delete it?

I didn’t delete my Facebook because it is the best way to keep in contact with my friends and family that live all across the world, everywhere from Eastern Oregon, to Nicaragua, to Louisiana, to Sweden. Facebook is a one-stop-shop to keep in contact with them at no cost to any of us.

One of my best friends has approximately 26 friends on Facebook. They are all people that she can’t see in person on a regular basis (with the exception of me, hence the ‘best friend’ bit), she’s not even “friends” with her boyfriend. Maybe eventually I’ll get to that level, but for now I’m really trying to avoid all those awkward Facebook-karma moments…

Photo by duncan

Leave a Reply

